NFL Offensive Player of the Year Odds & Predictions

Sam WagmanSports Content Editor
Last Updated: Feb 8, 2024

One of the most difficult awards to bet on is the NFL’s Offensive Player of the Year.

That is because this award usually goes to the most outstanding statistically-inclined non-quarterback, whereas the NFL MVP has historically been a quarterback-centric award.

However, we’ve recently seen some quarterbacks take home this award in addition to MVP honors (Patrick Mahomes in 2018, Matt Ryan in 2016, Cam Newton in 2015, etc.). It’s a tough award to forecast, but this is one that a skill position player can actually win.

To help guide you in our NFL predictions series, here are our Offensive Player of the Year predictions and betting tips.

NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award Odds

All NFL odds are courtesy of DraftKings Sportsbook and are current as of Thursday, Feb 8, 2024, at 12:30 p.m. ET.

  • Christian McCaffrey (-300)
  • Tyreek Hill (+175)
  • CeeDee Lamb (+1500)

NFL Offensive Player of the Year Prediction

Christian McCaffrey, San Francisco 49ers (-300)

Wager: 1 Unit

About 14 or 15 weeks of the way through the season, this award really became a three-man race, given CeeDee Lamb’s torrid finish to the season and Tyreek Hill’s falling out of the MVP race once Miami was able to win 30-0 without him. However, McCaffrey has a stranglehold on this award this year, and for good reason.

McCaffrey put up one of the better years that we’ve seen out of the running back position, with 1,459 rushing yards and 14 touchdowns on the ground and 564 yards with seven touchdowns through the air. That’s over 2,000 total yards, folks, with 21 total touchdowns.

McCaffrey is also an NFL MVP finalist in a year where nobody really ever separated themselves from the pack, but he is unlikely to win that award, so it’s a natural progression for him to take home the NFL’s Offensive Player of the Year award.

NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award History

List of Associated Press NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award Winners

1972Larry BrownRBWashington Redskins
1973O. J. SimpsonRBBuffalo Bills
1974Ken StablerQBOakland Raiders
1975Fran TarkentonQBMinnesota Vikings
1976Bert JonesQBBaltimore Colts
1977Walter PaytonRBChicago Bears
1978Earl CampbellRBHouston Oilers
1979Earl CampbellRBHouston Oilers
1980Earl CampbellRBHouston Oilers
1981Ken AndersonQBCincinnati Bengals
1982Dan FoutsQBSan Diego Chargers
1983Joe TheismannQBWashington Redskins
1984Dan MarinoQBMiami Dolphins
1985Marcus AllenRBLos Angeles Raiders
1986Eric DickersonRBLos Angeles Rams
1987Jerry RiceWRSan Francisco 49ers
1988Roger CraigRBSan Francisco 49ers
1989Joe MontanaQBSan Francisco 49ers
1990Warren MoonQBHouston Oilers
1991Thurman ThomasRBBuffalo Bills
1992Steve YoungQBSan Francisco 49ers
1993Jerry RiceWRSan Francisco 49ers
1994Barry SandersRBDetroit Lions
1995Brett FavreQBGreen Bay Packers
1996Terrell DavisRBDenver Broncos
1997Barry SandersRBDetroit Lions
1998Terrell DavisRBDenver Broncos
1999Marshall FaulkRBSt. Louis Rams
2000Marshall FaulkRBSt. Louis Rams
2001Marshall FaulkRBSt. Louis Rams
2002Priest HolmesRBKansas City Chiefs
2003Jamal LewisRBBaltimore Ravens
2004Peyton ManningQBIndianapolis Colts
2005Shaun AlexanderRBSeattle Seahawks
2006LaDainian TomlinsonRBSan Diego Chargers
2007Tom BradyQBNew England Patriots
2008Drew BreesQBNew Orleans Saints
2009Chris JohnsonRBTennessee Titans
2010Tom BradyQBNew England Patriots
2011Drew BreesQBNew Orleans Saints
2012Adrian PetersonRBMinnesota Vikings
2013Peyton ManningQBDenver Broncos
2014DeMarco MurrayRBDallas Cowboys
2015Cam NewtonQBCarolina Panthers
2016Matt RyanQBAtlanta Falcons
2017Todd GurleyRBLos Angeles Rams
2018Patrick MahomesQBKansas City Chiefs
2019Michael ThomasWRNew Orleans Saints
2020Derrick HenryRBTennessee Titans
2021Cooper KuppWRLos Angeles Rams
2022Justin JeffersonWRMinnesota Vikings

Winners by position

  • Running back (26)
  • Quarterback (20)
  • Wide receiver (5)
  • Tight end (0)

Who votes for the NFL Offensive Player of the Year?

Three organizations give out NFL Offensive Player of the Year awards: the Associated Press, Pro Football Writers of America, and The Sporting News. The Associated Press’s award for the most outstanding offensive player is the award given out at the official NFL Honors ceremony. Sportswriters are selected by the AP to vote each year.

Who has won multiple NFL Offensive Player of the Year awards?

Eight players have won NFL OPOY more than once. Earl Campbell (1978, 1979, 1980) and Marshall Faulk (1999, 2000, 2001) both won three times and in consecutive years. Jerry Rice (1987, 1993), Barry Sanders (1994, 1997), Terrell Davis (1996, 1998), Tom Brady (2007, 2010), Drew Brees (2008, 2011), and Peyton Manning (2004, 2013) each won the award twice.


Sam Wagman

Sam is the Sports Content Editor for The Game Day. He has been in the sports media industry for 4 years, with stints at VegasInsider, Footballguys, and Fantasy Points. Sam specializes in fantasy football content creation and strategy as well as sports betting content strategy with an NFL and PGA focus. Originally from Philadelphia, he enjoys all Philly sports despite now living in Florida. He enjoys playing tennis, pickleball, and golf -- while constantly struggling to break 80 on the course.

Related articles


Get $1,500 in Bonus Bets

5 stars

Bet $5, Get $150 in Bonus Bets or First Bet Safety Net

5 stars

Get A $1,500 No Sweat Bet + NBA SGP Token

5 stars

Get A Bonus Bet Up to $1,000

5 stars

Bet $5, Get $150 in Bonus Bets

5 stars

Get Up To $250 Second Chance Bonus Bet

5 stars

If you or someone you know has a gambling problem and wants help, please call 1-800-GAMBLER.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call or text 1-800-GAMBLER (CO, DC, IL, IN, LA, MD, MS, NJ, OH, PA, TN, VA, WV, WY).

Call 877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY).

Please Gamble Responsibly. Call 1-800-NEXT-STEP (AZ), 1-800-522-4700 (KS, NV), 1-800-327-5050 (MA), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-270-7117 for confidential help (MI).

All betting content on is exclusively intended for audience members 21 years and older who are permitted to gamble in legal states. The Game Day may earn revenue from site visitor referrals to betting services.

Responsible Gaming: Many sportsbooks offer ways to encourage responsible gaming, including the establishment of limits to deposits, spending, and time dedicated to betting.

The Game Day is a TGD Marketing Ltd. endeavor.