2023 Heisman Trophy Odds & Best Bets

Last Updated: Apr 24, 2024

The Heisman Trophy is the most prestigious award you can receive as an individual in college football. The wild nature of the season – and the imperfect voting process – creates a seriously intriguing betting market.

Favorites emerge early, and some fade. Yet every week brings a new slate of games that reshape those markets.

Continue reading for the full Heisman Trophy odds, the favorites, the contenders, and the sleepers who could break out and pay off big. Be sure to also check out the latest 2024 CFB National Championship odds.

2023 Heisman Trophy Odds & Favorites

  • Bo Nix, QB, Oregon (-175)
  • Jayden Daniels, QB, LSU (+140)
  • Michael Penix Jr., QB, Washington, (+1600)
  • Jalen Milroe, QB, Alabama (+10000)
  • Ollie Gordon II, RB (+15000)
  • Carson Beck, QB, Georgia (+15000)
  • Marvin Harrison Jr., WR, Ohio State (+20000)
  • Blake Corum, RB, Michigan (+30000)
  • J.J. McCarthy, QB, Michigan (+30000)

Last Updated: November 29, 2023

2023 Heisman Trophy Predictions

If you’re looking to make a futures wager on the 2023 Heisman Trophy, these are the guys with the most bang for your buck!

Michael Penix Jr., QB, Washington (+1600)

Michael Penix Jr. blew up last season, and the positive forward momentum carries into the 2023 season. The Huskies do a terrific job at putting the lefty in a great position to succeed and Penix now finds himself as the Heisman odds frontrunner.

Between his arm strength, poise, pocket feel and great anticipation on his throws, Penix looks like one of the most NFL-ready quarterback prospects in this draft class.

The problem is that the Pac-12 is loaded with great quarterbacks. A win and outpacing Bo Nix in the Pac-12 Championship game could push the award to Penix.

Bo Nix, QB, Oregon (-175)

Nix and the Oregon Ducks sustained a tough loss to Washington. The season is far from derailed though with a legit shot for a CFP bid.

The Pac-12 is chock full of talented quarterbacks this year which will provide the platform in every big contest to bolster his Heisman odds. Nix is one of the favorites to be a finalist and a win over Washington in the Pac-12 Championship could seal the deal to win.

Jayden Daniels, QB, LSU (+140)

Statistically speaking, Daniels is having a great season.

A tough loss to Alabama takes away some of his Heisman spotlight, but on paper, Daniels’s statistics are among the best at his position. LSU doesn’t have any marquee games left so there’s not much Daniels can do to bolster his chances.

  • Seventeen of the last 21 Heisman Trophy Winners have been quarterbacks.
  • Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith is the last non-quarterback to win (2020).
  • Since the first College Football Playoff, the Heisman Trophy recipient’s team has made the playoffs every year except for Lamar Jackson in 2016 and Caleb Williams in 2022.
  • Since 2010, the Heisman Trophy winner by school year has been:
    • Freshman: 2
    • Sophomore: 3
    • Junior: 5
    • Senior: 3
  • Since 2010, the Heisman Trophy by conference has been:
    • SEC: 6
    • Big 12: 3
    • Pac-12: 2
    • ACC: 2

Charles Woodson (1997) is the only primarily defensive player to win the Heisman Trophy. Woodson also returned punts/kicks and caught 11 passes for 231 yards and two touchdowns as a receiver.

Archie Griffin is the only player to win the Heisman Trophy in back-to-back seasons (1974 & 1975)

Since 2010, the Heisman Trophy winner has gone on to be the No. 1 pick in the NFL Draft seven times.

Where to Bet Heisman Trophy Futures

Former Heisman Trophy Winners

2023Jayden DanielsLSUQB
2022Caleb WilliamsUSCQB
2021Bryce YoungAlabamaQB
2020DeVonta SmithAlabamaWR
2019Joe BurrowLSUQB
2018Kyler MurrayOklahomaQB
2017Baker MayfieldOklahomaQB
2016Lamar JacksonLouisvilleQB
2015Derrick HenryAlabamaRB
2014Marcus MariotaOregonQB
2013Jameis WinstonFlorida StateQB
2012Johnny ManzielTexas A&MQB
2011Robert Griffin IIIBaylorQB
2010Cameron NewtonAuburnQB
2009Mark IngramAlabamaRB
2008Sam BradfordOklahomaQB
2007Tim TebowFloridaQB
2006Troy SmithOhio StateQB
2005Reggie BushUSCRB
2004Matt LeinartUSCQB
2003Jason WhiteOklahomaQB
2002Carson PalmerUSCQB
2001Eric CrouchNebraskaQB
2000Chris WeinkeFlorida StateQB
1999Ron DayneWisconsinRB
1998Ricky WilliamsTexasRB
1997Charles WoodsonMichiganDB/WR
1996Danny WuerffelFloridaQB
1995Eddie GeorgeOhio StateRB
1994Rashaan SalaamColoradoRB
1993Charlie WardFlorida StateQB
1992Gino TorrettaMiamiQB
1991Desmond HowardMichiganWR
1990Ty DetmerBrigham YoungQB
1989Andre WareHoustonQB
1988Barry SandersOklahoma StateRB
1987Tim BrownNotre DameWR
1986Vinny TestaverdeMiamiQB
1985Bo JacksonAuburnRB
1984Doug FlutieBoston CollegeQB
1983Mike RozierNebraskaRB
1982Herschel WalkerGeorgiaRB
1981Marcus AllenUSCRB
1980George RogersSouth CarolinaRB
1979Charles WhiteUSCRB
1978Billy SimsOklahomaRB
1977Earl CampbellTexasRB
1976Tony DorsettPittsburghRB
1975Archie GriffinOhio StateRB
1974Archie GriffinOhio StateRB
1973John CappellettiPenn StateRB
1972Johnny RodgersNebraskaWR
1971Pat SullivanAuburnQB
1970Jim PlunkettStanfordQB
1969Steve OwensOklahomaHB
1968O.J. SimpsonUSCHB
1967Gary BebanUCLAQB
1966Steve SpurrierFloridaQB
1965Mike GarrettUSCHB
1964John HuarteNotre DameQB
1963Roger StaubachNavyQB
1962Terry BakerOregon StateQB
1961Ernie DavisSyracuseHB
1960Joe BellinoNavyHB
1959Billy CannonLSUHB
1958Pete DawkinsArmyHB
1957John David CrowTexas A&MHB
1956Paul HornungNotre DameQB
1955Howard CassadyOhio StateHB
1954Alan AmecheWisconsinFB
1953Johnny LattnerNotre DameHB
1952Billy VesselsOklahomaHB
1951Dick KazmaierPrincetonHB
1950Vic JanowiczOhio StateHB
1949Leon HartNotre DameE
1948Doak WalkerSMUHB
1947Johnny LujackNotre DameQB
1946Glenn DavisArmyHB
1945Doc BlanchardArmyFB
1944Les HorvathOhio StateQB/HB
1943Angelo BertelliNotre DameQB
1942Frank SinkwichGeorgiaHB
1941Bruce SmithMinnesotaHB
1940Tom HarmonMichiganHB
1939Nile KinnickIowaHB
1938Davey O'BrienTexas ChristianQB
1937Clint FrankYaleHB
1936Larry KelleyYaleE
1935Jay BerwangerChicagoHB


Matt De Lima

Matt is a sports content editor at The Game Day with more than 10 years experience in the fantasy and betting spaces. He is a two-time Fantasy Sports Writing Association award finalist with previous experience working for Sports Illustrated, Full Time Fantasy, FFToolbox, 4for4, and RotoExperts. Born and raised in California, Matt now calls southern Maryland home. He is a Virginia Tech alumnus and a life-long 49ers, Lakers, and Dodgers fan.

Related articles


Get $1,500 in Bonus Bets

5 stars

Bet $5, Get $150 in Bonus Bets or First Bet Safety Net

5 stars

Get A $1,500 No Sweat Bet + NBA SGP Token

5 stars

Get A Bonus Bet Up to $1,000

5 stars

Bet $5, Get $150 in Bonus Bets

5 stars

Get Up To $250 Second Chance Bonus Bet

5 stars

If you or someone you know has a gambling problem and wants help, please call 1-800-GAMBLER.

21+ and present in OH. Gambling Problem? Call or text 1-800-GAMBLER (CO, DC, IL, IN, LA, MD, MS, NJ, OH, PA, TN, VA, WV, WY).

Call 877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY).

Please Gamble Responsibly. Call 1-800-NEXT-STEP (AZ), 1-800-522-4700 (KS, NV), 1-800-327-5050 (MA), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-270-7117 for confidential help (MI).

All betting content on is exclusively intended for audience members 21 years and older who are permitted to gamble in legal states. The Game Day may earn revenue from site visitor referrals to betting services.

Responsible Gaming: Many sportsbooks offer ways to encourage responsible gaming, including the establishment of limits to deposits, spending, and time dedicated to betting.

The Game Day is a TGD Marketing Ltd. endeavor.